Just like the Pan African Flag

There was a song written in 1896 with the message that every race has a flag except African Americans.  This song inspired the creation of the Pan African Flag later on in 1920.  In America, the black community lacked identity and a sense of belonging.  The Pan African flag was an attempt to finally have something that is theirs for once.  This was an attempt to restore and heal their identity. 

Most of you reading this have never even heard of this flag, because, over time, the flag has been slowly eradicated to the point it barely exists.  I believe it is because, in America, we tend to put the black community in a box and replace their culture with “American things” (as you know, this is for all races living in America, but the black community in particular.)  We have a habit of taking what they have and replacing it with what we think is better, in an attempt to bring equality.   When, in fact, this does the opposite.  We’ve stripped blacks of their culture instead of celebrating it.  Just like the Pan African flag, many things they call significant have been brushed off, because, as for the rest of society, we don’t understand.  Sadly, when things don’t make sense to us, we devalue it until it doesn’t exist.

I love to sit down with my good friends who are a part of the black community and ask the hard questions.  I have found that there is a common theme in struggle.  Most tell me they have real questions about whether or not they have a part in God’s story.  Some tell me they feel like they have to change who they are in public to be accepted and not looked at as suspicious.  It hurts me because, not only do my friends have to struggle with the everyday mind battles, but they also struggle with the battles of having dark skin.  I never knew my friends drowned in the feeling of insignificance and feeling alone, until I asked. 

My black friends and family, you are significant.  You are not an inconvenience.  You are, and continue to be, the strongest people I know.  You do have a purpose in God’s story.

My white friends and family, Jesus loves their culture, along with every race’s culture.  He loves what makes His children who they are.  He doesn’t want them to hide who they are; He wants them to embrace it.  He shows a great example of what we should do.

Therefore receive one another, just as Christ also received us, to the glory of God.

Romans 15:7

If He loves their culture, we should love their culture.  If He celebrates who they are, we should celebrate them.  If He listens to them, we should take the time to listen to them. 

Isn’t it a beautiful thing?  We get the chance to sit with people and listen to their stories.  We get to really see where the gold inside of them came from.

My white friends and family, listen and celebrate.  My black friends and family, you were meant to be heard and celebrated.

Now may the God of patience and comfort grant you to be like-minded toward one another, according to Christ Jesus, that you may with one mind and one mouth glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ

Romans 15:5-6

I wanted to share what has been heavy on my heart recently regarding the black community in America.  It has especially been heavy after the recent event that took place in Minnesota.  My heart goes out to the family of Daunte Wright.  He was a 20 year old black father, who was shot and killed recently by a white cop.  I don’t care what the motive was; they need prayer.  I ask you to pray for Daunte’s family and his son.  Please pray for the black community in Minnesota, since this was the same neighborhood where George Floyd was killed.  They are hurting and grieving.  Pray for peace, strength, and unity.  Also, pray for the cop and her family.  Whatever her motives were, she needs Jesus just as much.  I thank you for praying, and I am expecting big, God things to come out of Minnesota!

Leave a comment